30 Miles Down

Made it to Neels Gap! Imagine my intense excitement at being able to stay in the hostel here….a hostel that has an adorable cat named Bronson.

Statistically, most people quit by this point. Honestly, I’ve never felt better or happier. Got a few blisters, but, nothing I can’t handle. The wonderful people here at Mountain Crossings gave me a pack shakedown and things feel so much lighter and better!! This’ll help me hike faster for sure.

Pirate, the hostel runner is making us pork chops and salad for dinner, my mouth is watering as I wait for it. There is nothing like good food after eating dehydrated stuff. Since I got here, I ate m&m’s, lemonade and hot pepper cheese.

The building is full of inspirational quotes and Pirate is a wealth of information. I almost feel like repeating Christopher McCandless here: “I could live this life for some time to come”. That could never be more true. Looking forward to hiking again tomorrow. It’s going to be a wonderful day, for sure.

20120319-210229.jpg

Just want to end this with a wonderful message shared with me from Jetpack, a 2011 thru-hiker: “embrace the brutality”. Life is nothing but ups and downs folks, it’s all in how you look at it that makes the difference in how you live life and in who you are.

2 thoughts on “30 Miles Down

  1. Pack shakedowns all around! Love it! Here’s to lightening your load and making it to Neel’s Gap. Congrats! Thinking of you. Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

