Franklin, NC

Trail magic works in wondrous ways. Waiting for the shuttle into Franklin, I met Gingersnap. Gingersnap thru-hiked the trail last year and has spent some time this season filling a box of goodies near the 100 mile mark for fellow thru-hikers. And by goodies, I mean the best cakes a hiker could ask for! She offered us a ride into town and shortly into the conversation, offered me a place to rest my weary, messy feet and aching stomach. Never in my life did I think such people existed. There is a kinship that comes with thru-hiking for sure and a want to give back.

Instantly she made me feel better about resting a few days by telling me how she was holed up in Hot Springs for a time healing her hiking wounds. And it has become increasingly clear that a lesson I am supposed to learn is to take better care of myself.

Therefore, I am resting for some days in Franklin, helping with trail magic, making tasty cakes for other thru-hikers and hearing wonderful stories about Gingersnap’s experience last year. Buying new hiking shoes after the blisters heal from the great folks at Outdoor 76 ( very knowledgeable!!! ) and getting my stomach and cold symptoms under control. I finally realized, my feet are my mode of transportation. I NEED to heal and take care of them. 100 miles down. 2080 more to go….

20120329-182721.jpg

One last note, while resting up I decided to go see The Hunger Games….I kept seeing trail metaphors….and the survival sections in the woods….I am itching to get back out there. So well acted and done, of course. People get very opinionated about adaptations, and I have been out of the news/life loop since hitting the trail, but, I was happy with how the story and characters were brought to life. It even felt slightly relatable….minus the love story, of course 🙂

20120331-214917.jpg

3 thoughts on “Franklin, NC

  1. so proud of you, rest your feet. give em’ some love. and just so you know, you’ve encouraged us to do the AT, we’re hoping in a year to follow in your footsteps 🙂 sending love 🙂 keep it up!!

  2. I’m so glad that you’ve decided to let your feet heal. I think it’s one of the best things you can do to improve your chance of success. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

