One Moment

There has been a lot going on, and I can’t even begin to get into all of it. But, what I can tell you, my amazingly supportive readers (whose comments I look forward to) is about one moment in the trail today. This moment made me feel like I am a part of the Appalachian Trail. Hiking along side a mountain in North Carolina, the sun has been beating down all day, basking me in this beautiful glow. I’ve been watching my feet and the immediate path beneath, so as not to make a misstep. All of a sudden, this shadow passes overhead…the birds wingspan nearly covers me and I look to my left, and there is the most amazing bird flying away. It had to be as big as I am tall and the seconds it took to pass on out of sight felt like an eternity. This is what the trail is all about. This is why I fight the pain. This is why I am here.

20120403-204554.jpg

10 thoughts on “One Moment

  1. So amazed at the experiences you are having. Sending the treats out on Monday. Hopefully they will get there in time and still be yummy!

  2. I love moments like that on the trail. I was going to say vulture, but a quick perusal of the “birds of North Carolina” wikipedia page shows they have albatrosses, which are some of the largest birds there are. Did you get it on film ?

  3. unbelievable! it was probably looking for lunch . they’ll be plenty more sights and sounds. enough for a life time of memories. how’s the feet? hope all is well.
    later
    tc

  4. Thank you so much for sharing this moment with us!! I can only imagine what that felt like — but thanks to your succinct and rich description, I can actually almost feel it. Thought you shoukd know, when my son and I say our prayer each night, we’ve begun to include “keeping mommy’s friend Kori safe on the trail”. We’re thinking of you daily šŸ™‚ Especially when I hear Miss Lambert sing her butt off!! Stay with it girl, ride those waves I emotion, feel all of it, knowing that you SO got this. Have a very Happy Easter in NC! We’ll be looking forward to hearing more stories!

Leave a Reply

