Woods Hole Hostel

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I ended up neroing into woods hole. The night before this lone wolf (some wolf pack members are 40 miles ahead, while others are 60 miles behind) had attempted to make 14 miles into the hostel. However, a later start, an hour “wasted” at a waterfall….(waterfall time is never wasted time) and a freaky shelter made me just short of making it here.

Despite just zeroing at trail days, this was a perfect place to come get some peaceful rest for my soul. Trail days was so crazy, everywhere you looked there was either locals or hikers. A second alone in quiet was near impossible, not that I was being antisocial. I went back to see the members of the pack that were behind, and it was well worth it for sure.

After two days off my recent aching knee didn’t feel any better and the hike yesterday didn’t seem to show any signs of improvement. I called it a night after 10 miles. Well, I did. The bear on the mountain didn’t. I woke up around 2 AM to a loud noise, there was crunching in the leaves and a loud screeching sound. The only thing I could equate the noise to was a bear ripping bark off trees, this was verified by a loud thump as a piece of a tree fell to the ground. That continued through the night and it got about 50 yards away.

Needless to say after that, sitting here at woods hole I am in heaven. The shower was amazing, outside on little round pebbles, the water got to be perfectly hot. Neville made the best smoothie served in a mason jar, and I seemed to develop a shadow as one of the hounds started following me around. That was then followed by hammock time just as a storm cloud opened up on the area….thank goodness I wasn’t hiking during that!

I got to help prepare dinner, which was pumpkin lasagna. So incredible. I can’t even get over the freshness of everything.

Neville and Michael are amazing hosts. I cannot thank them enough for a night to forget that I am flying completely solo now. I felt like I was a part of a family again, and for one night, it was just what the doctor ordered.

20120528-191210.jpg

One thought on “Woods Hole Hostel

Leave a Reply

