Things Are Changing

Everywhere around me people are leaving the trail. Simply put, this scares the heck outta me. The odds are always against us. The ride to the approach trail consisted of the shuttler informing the four of us in the car that only one of us would make it the whole way.

I recently found myself at a bed and breakfast for a free hiker lunch. Sitting on the table was “Appalachian Trials” by Zach Davis. I began reading and instantly realized I was meant to sit there and read that book. He talks about the Virginia blues…or what it really is, hiking the A.T. and coming out of the honeymoon phase. For most people at this point the A.T. is no longer fun. Actually, it resembles work. Wake up at 6, pack up your house, eat breakfast, walk, snack, walk, lunch, walk, snack, walk, set up your house, dinner, bed by 9:30.

I was starting to feel like I was getting tired of that life and then the book by Davis put it all into perspective. Not sure what the reason was, but, I felt rejuvenated and at that moment I knew come hell or high water I am making it to Katahdin. feeling that way, completely changed the next two days, I was on a high and nothing stopped me. On the second day, I did 21 miles in 8 hours to meet my ride exactly at 3pm, for a rest in waynesboro. Life is good.

7 thoughts on “Things Are Changing

  1. Make summitting Katahdin your intention – not a wish, dream or hope.

    I’ve read Davis’ book – good read – at this point in your trail progress it is 90% mental.

    Great news is that the trail only gets better. The Doyle, Yuengling beer, great New England towns, interesting views, Hanover, the amazing Whites, NY ice cream and pizza and on and on…… The yankee locals are great too – they appreciate that you have made it so far.

    Sounds like the Dutch Haus worked their magic and you are ready to get this done!!

    Be Safe,

    Evil Eye
    GA->ME ’07

    • Wow, thank you so much for the comment!! It’s nice to see past thru-hikers are watching my progress, and you are so right about Katahdin. I really loved reading this, made my day 🙂

  2. wow!! 21 miles in 8 hours. you’re ripping it up. the pictures and updates are awesome.
    one mile at a time katahdin here i come.

  3. Thanks for the mention Rocket.

    Friends falling off the trail can indeed be tough. It’s a test of your determination; you passed. You should recognize this and feel AWESOME about it.

    Enjoy each step.

    (Sent from an overcrowded coffee shop whereby there are zero trees in sight)

    – Badger

Leave a Reply

