Halfway!

I have officially hiked half of the Appalachian Trail. I cannot tell a lie, it feels pretty darn good. I have overcome physical hurdles, mental hurdles, emotional hurdles…and it is only going to get tougher. Pennsylvania is also known as Rocksylvania…and I have yet to hit the tough rocks. Money is getting tight and time, even tighter. I am one of the few people out here (that I’ve run into) that has a deadline. My mileage is increasing for sure, 25 miles a day just doesn’t seem as daunting as it used to. At this point, things are a little of a mixed bag, more friends have left trail and the pressure of finishing on time for my last semester of grad school is mounting.

So, how to deal with that stress? Well, for today, I managed to deal with it by consuming a half gallon of ice cream. The half gallon challenge is a tradition amongst thru-hikers. I managed to consume my chocolate ice cream in 26 minutes. If anything, it gave me a sugar rush to keep going!! Miles to go before I sleep…specifically, around 1095 miles….

20120713-214236.jpg

20120713-214247.jpg

20120713-214354.jpg

4 thoughts on “Halfway!

    • Besides new shoes, I dont need much else. It is crazy how expensive things get as we get farther north….metabolism is up and trying to save money on food is tough. Just gotta keep on truckin’!

Leave a Reply

