Good News, Bad News

Well, the good news is the trench foot is healing, however, the bad news is I have an infected ulcer on my toe.  I have an appointment at a wound clinic on Friday to have a sharp debridement.  Basically, they will cut at my toe and remove all the dirt that has started to heal in. They will also remove the dead tissue and fully clean out the “stage 3” wound. “Stage 3” one might ask? Well, that means the wound is so deep it is down to the muscle tissue. Hard to walk on just muscle tissue, unless you’re Chuck Norris. Right now, I wish I was Chuck Norris.

Timeline? A week at least, maybe more. I am going to be optimistic about it all. Because, whether I like it or not, this is my journey and this is the events that have unfolded. I still have a firm deadline for school, though I am thinking of asking for an extension….positive thoughts on THAT being a possibility! Either way, I have been looking forward to getting to the whites and hiking Maine. When I am healed, I hope to restart my trek there.

Thanks to everyone who has sent their supportive messages. I think you know how much I want to finish this trip and how much it means to me at this point. I think you also know the lengths I will go to to get back out there.

4 thoughts on “Good News, Bad News

  1. Good luck with all this, Kori! I don’t know if I’ll be able to catch you as you pass through the Whites (I broke my leg Memorial Day weekend) but I hope you heal up quickly and can enjoy the rest of your walk to Katahdin. 🙂

  2. Get yourself good and healed! Sorry for the delay it brings, but the trail is many things and demands much. Each journey is unique and this has been a very tough year. If you have some time, check out the film Ride the Divide!

  3. Get well, Kori. You need those feet! When you return to the trail, there will be a care package waiting for you in Hanover at Mountain Goat Outfitters. (We shipped it yesterday!) I hope the brownies don’t get too stale!

Leave a Reply

