A New Journey: Adjusting

One full week since I climbed the amazing Mt. Katahdin. I was warned going into this that my life would change, that I would change and that nothing would ever be the same. Part of me wonders if I really listened to that advice. I spoke with a good trail friend last night and the word I came up with when talking to her was shock. Shock. That fully describes, as best as one word can, how I feel. EVERYTHING is different. I suppose everyone is the same, just how I view things has changed. I walk through this drab world now, hard, rough, beauty obscured by geometric giants. Every smell threatens my nose, swirling scents of a fake world. Tar, rubber, gas, oil, plastic, perfume, cologne. The sounds are harsh and too vibrant. I no longer pause to listen, I am bombarded with shooting planes, screeching tires, angry horns. I feel like I don’t belong in this world that tries to hammer itself over your head. Yet, I remain calm and focus on blocking it out as meditatively as possible. I’ve never been one to lie or pad my thoughts when it comes to how I feel and/or my opinions. That hasn’t changed, and so this is an honest offering up to the question I’ve been asked most frequently: how are you?

The answer: I am calmly shocked 🙂

8 thoughts on “A New Journey: Adjusting

  1. Great post, Kori. Milton and I were talking last night about how much easier (more natural) it is to transition to trail life than it is to transition back to the ‘real’ (unnatural) life. Hang in there!

  2. Decompression and adjustment after an A.T. hike lasted months for me. I found transcribing my original journal was somehow therapeutic for me – plus it kept me in touch with the “trail world” until I could hike along the A.T. again. May you learn rich lessons as you undertake this new growth process.

    • I think you are right on on the journal aspect. I realized today how lucky I am to have all this video footage of my journey that takes me right back to it. Hands down, the A.T. was the best thing that ever happened to me. It’s wonderful to see how it affected so many others as well.

  3. Even after 3 days in the woods I come out feeling so out of place. I can’t imagine how difficult it is after a journey like you had. Hang in there girl! If you ever want to come to Florida – we will get you out on some totally different trails!

    • Oh man, I would love to one day hike every “longer” distance trail in America. Florida would be awesome! And, I am starting to think I prefer feeling out of place. There are new observant skills I have learned that help me see through a lot of people’s “fronts”. Or maybe I just think that is the case now 🙂

  4. Hey, I just stumbled across your blog. First of all, congratulations on your accomplishment.
    Secondly, I hope you don’t mind: I put a link to your blog on my site. I always enjoy reading of people’s experience on the trail, and it never ceases to amaze me that no two are alike.

  5. Totally agree with Notacluegal. Although I will say while it may not compare to the build up before doing the AT, the anticipation on just doing a weekend 4k backpack is pretty rad and I get to experience it about once a month. Just something to maybe look forward to! Congrats on finishing.

Leave a Reply

